This weekend I will print the third block of the Lonely Dog reduction print. One of the reasons I chose to do a reduction print was to aid in getting the registration right. My reasoning was that if each block is actually the same block with the same kento (registration notches) that everything should line up pretty well. Interestingly, I found out that this is not so, and I’m not exactly sure why. I found that when I lined up the paper over the second block, I needed to place the paper about one millimeter above the bottom edge of the kagi kento (the right-angled notch on the lower right corner). The side kento lined up exactly. My guess is that the paper stretched somewhat between printings, although I did try to moisten the paper to the same degree as for the first block. I used Nishinouchi paper from McClains which is 90% Kozo and 10% acid-free woodpulp. If anybody knows why this is happening, please let me know.

lonelydog.jpg

lonelydogprints.jpg

