This week I have been working on an idea for a new woodblock print.

My inspiration comes from this color woodcut entitled Blue Gums by William Seltzer Rice – Elvehjem Museum of Art (photo from in the book American Color Woodcuts: Bounty From the Block, 1890s-1900s).
img_0046.jpg

I had taken this photograph of a tree sometime ago with the intention of using it as reference for an artwork. I felt that this tree might be able to come to life using a technique similar to that used to create Blue Gums.
img_0377.jpg

I worked out this image in colored pencil, but it looked too similar to the Blue Gums piece.
img_0047.jpg

I tried experimenting with the clouds . . .
img_0048.jpgimg_0050.jpg

I liked this experiment best. It was done in watercolor to simulate the overlapping colors in a reduction block print. I will need to further experiment with printing gradations before I can make it work as a woodblock print.
img_0049.jpg

