The moral of the fairy tale “The Talkative Tortoise” can be summarize in a quote by Robert Newton Peck:
“Never miss a chance to keep your mouth shut.”
Unbeknownst to me it was perhaps the lesson I was supposed to learn when I opened my big mouth and said, “sure, I’ll join the fairy tale print exchange,” even though I had no experience printing a run anywhere near 30 prints. Thus, the reason I haven’t blogged in so long – not because I haven’t been making prints, but because that’s all I’ve been doing. But don’t be mistaken in thinking that I regret being a part of this exchange. True it was an excruciating and expensive couple of months, with three key blocks and over half of the prints rejected. I felt like I was in graduate school again. And my final prints are still not to my complete satisfaction. That said, however, the experience and confidence that I have gained have been worth the ride. I’ll try to convey some of this here in the coming weeks. For now, here is the print. I still have a few more details to attend to, but this baby is in the mail tomorrow!

Talkative Tortoise

