This week I finished carving the first two out of twelve blocks for the Poppies Triptych.
Poppies Triptych I - block 3

Poppies Triptych I - block 4

I am carving this series in a specific order that will aid in alignment of the blocks. For each block the carving order will be:

  1. Medium Green
  2. Dark Green
  3. Yellow
  4. Orange

Because the dark green is printed over the medium green, I find it easier to carve the medium green first and then use it as a guide to align the dark green (for the same reasons I carve yellow before orange). I will go into greater detail about how I align the blocks in my next post.

I will be printing lightest to darkest to take advantage of the transparent qualities of the colors, so the printing order for each block will be:

  1. Yellow
  2. Orange
  3. Medium Green
  4. Dark Green

I’m not sure that any of this orderliness is strictly necessary, but it seems to help my old brain. With so many blocks it’s easy to get lost. You may notice from the photos that I have even labeled each block.

